• The KS3 English curriculum consists of a range of Schemes of Work that cover reading, writing and spoken language. 
  • All pupils have 3 blocks of hourly lessons of English weekly; however, booster sessions are created for those who require additional input.
  • Teaching staff have the flexibility to choose the appropriate schemes of work, in liaison with the Head of English, to ensure that pupils access a balanced curriculum and are challenged appropriately, without compromising learning opportunities. 
  • In KS4 and 5, we offer Entry Level 1 – 3, Functional Skills Level 1-2, GCSE English language and literature, and A-level English Literature.

KS3 Scheme of Work Matrix:

 Autumn 1 & 2Spring 1Spring 2Summer 1Summer 2
Y7Novel – Teacher chooses from age appropriate listIntroduction to PoetryMyths and LegendsAdvertising & Non-FictionCreative Writing 
Y8Novel – Teacher chooses from age appropriate listRomeo and Juliet- Shakespeare textPersuasive WritingCreative Writing
Y9Novel – Teacher chooses from age appropriate listMacbeth – Shakespeare textFunctional Writing & Link with CareersCreative Writing

KS4 / 5 Options:

Pearson’s Entry Level Functional Skills (Entry 1-3):

Pearson’s Entry Level Functional Skills Entry 1-3 Certificates in English are qualifications designed to assess and recognise an individual’s essential skills in English at entry-level. The certificates aim to assess the candidate’s practical skills and understanding in English, focusing on reading, writing, speaking, and listening. Entry Levels: The certificates cover three entry levels: Entry 1, Entry 2, and Entry 3. Each level represents a progression in difficulty and complexity of English skills.

AQA’s Functional Skills (Level 1 & 2):

AQA Functional Skills English Level 1 and Level 2 are qualifications designed to assess and recognise an individual’s practical skills in English. The qualifications aim to assess the candidate’s ability to apply English skills in real-life situations, focusing on reading, writing, speaking, and listening. 

  • Level 1: AQA Functional Skills English Level 1 is equivalent to a GCSE grade 1-3. It assesses foundational English skills and the ability to understand and communicate basic information effectively. 
  • Level 2: AQA Functional Skills English Level 2 is equivalent to a GCSE grade 4-9. It assesses more advanced English skills, including the ability to understand and analyse complex texts, write coherent and well-structured pieces, and engage in extended spoken communication. Many higher education institutes and employers will accept this in place of a GCSE English qualification.  

AQA’s GCSE English Language / Literature 

  • GCSE English Language: AQA GCSE English Language is a comprehensive qualification that focuses on developing pupils’ reading, writing, and communication skills. Through the study of a wide range of fiction and non-fiction texts, pupils learn to analyse and evaluate language, structure, and style. They develop the ability to understand and interpret increasingly complex written materials, expanding their vocabulary and comprehension skills. The qualification also emphasizes effective writing skills, enabling pupils to write for different purposes and audiences with accuracy and fluency. AQA GCSE English Language equips pupils with essential communication skills that are valuable in both academic and professional settings.
  • AQA GCSE English Literature: AQA GCSE English Literature offers pupils the opportunity to explore and appreciate a diverse range of literary works. By studying texts from different genres, periods, and cultures, pupils develop critical thinking and analytical skills. They learn to analyze characters, themes, and literary techniques, and to interpret texts in their socio-cultural contexts. The qualification encourages pupils to engage with literature through close reading, discussion, and written analysis. AQA GCSE English Literature fosters a love for literature while enhancing pupils’ ability to express their ideas effectively and engage in meaningful literary discourse. It provides a solid foundation for further study in literature and related fields.

OCR’s A level English Literature 

  • OCR A level English Literature is a rigorous and comprehensive qualification that allows pupils to deepen their understanding and appreciation of literature. The qualification covers a wide range of literary texts, including classic works, contemporary literature, and texts from different cultures and traditions. Pupils develop advanced analytical and critical thinking skills as they explore themes, literary techniques, and the social and historical contexts of the texts. The qualification also encourages pupils to engage in independent research and develop their own interpretations and arguments. AQA A level English Literature equips pupils with valuable skills in literary analysis, research, and communication, preparing them for further study in English literature or related fields, as well as a variety of career paths that require strong analytical and communication skills.